Test drive the future

When it comes to learning, I’ve always been the type that liked to try my hand at what I was learning. For me I learn best when I try, make mistakes, get corrected, and then try again.  Especially if it’s a skill that I might could use for the future. One thing I don’t like abut some classes I’ve taken in over 15 years of learning, is classes that I only get told how things work. As you can guess already, I’m not so grand at theoretical sciences and at times math and I are bitter enemies.

When it comes to journalism, it’s been hitting the ground writing since that first class. Granted I wrote maybe two articles that semester, I still got my feet wet. This past semester was a new semester within itself. Almost every two weeks I would be working on a new story or press release. I really enough that constant work. To me it felt like these are things I will actually do when I get out of school. I feel the same way about building websites. While I’ve been getting journalism experience I never really knew what that deadline heat felt like. That was until my college’s newspaper went online…and I became the editor. Honestly there are times when I look at the plaque that has my name plus the phrase “Editor-in-Chief” and I want to turn it over. It’s not that I don’t think I can do this. It’s just I dreamed about doing this kind of thing and now I actually am. The day is actually here and I don’t know how I go from kid dreaming of this to actually being here. Now I’m at this place when I look at that golden wooden thing and repeat my mantra “Earn it”.

When it comes to editing articles, it’s not as hard to do as I thought it would be. It’s not hard to find the mistakes in the works of others as it is my own (very much like life if you ask me). As was the case with most of the things I’m going to talk about, once I got going and did it, it wasn’t very hard and I actually enjoyed doing it. There was one point when I was so engrossed with an article was editing that I completely missed my friend coming up to me and trying to talk to me.

 

Image

The newspaper for which I am the editor, launched a few days ago. I can only compare my feelings of that day to possibly my graduation. Both I and many others have come a long way to get to where we are today. Countless hours of work have been put in by many people. I know that countless more are ahead of us. I have until my graduation day to make this paper, a resource for the students I serve. I don’t know if you have figured this out about college students, but it’s a little difficult to get them to care about a school paper. But if they could read previous editions and realize that this new generation isn’t so different than the one before (technology is of course excluded in this argument). Sometimes I will read these old editions and just pray, that somehow someway my words can equal the greatness of theirs. 

One thought on “Test drive the future

  1. Great publish. I was looking at continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very useful information specifically the final part 🙂 I care for similarly info a lot. I had been searching for this specific information for any long time. Thanks and best of good fortune.

Leave a Reply

